An Interview with Mary Pope Osborne

Filed under: General Information - 19 Jul 2012  | Share on :

[Facebook] [Twitter]

Mary Pope Osborne is the author of the renowned Magic Tree House books, an award-winning children’s book series that have come to know international recognition. The first series consists of 28 books, starring two children: Jack and Annie. The books follow their adventures and missions as they embark on several journeys with a magical tree house. The second series consists of 20 books, centered around the same characters.

Here is an interview with the best-selling author Mary Pope Osborne, who speaks about the beloved books and the book-writing process.

Mary Pope Osborne was born on May 20, 1949, in Fort Sill, Oklahoma, United States. She attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. After graduating, she began travelling around the world and then she eventually settled in New York City. Even though she was a published author for more than 10 years before writing the first book in the Magic Tree House series, it was the series that brought her international recognition. Her clear, easy to read and well-paced writing style soon became unmistakable and the books reached an incredible popularity level.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Magic Tree House Book Develop the Imagination and Creativity

Filed under: General Information - 26 Jun 2012  | Share on :

[Facebook] [Twitter]

The Magic Tree House books is an award-winning of children’s books written by American author Mary Pope Osborne. In the first series, consisting of the first 28 books, Morgan Le Fay sends Annie and Jack, two normal children from Pennsylvania, on many adventures and missions with a magical tree house in order to help free Morgan from a spell, solve four ancient riddles to become Master Librarians and save four ancient stories from being lost forever. This book series is great for children, since it can develop imagination, creativity and can make them think more.

When my son was younger, these were among his favorite books. He made sure we saved these so he could pass them on to his little sister to read to her once she is old enough. The books have simple chapters. They range in page count from about 68 to 96 pages. They are relatively quick lectures, that can be read in a few nights depending on your child’s reading level. The set that we have at home contains four books in the series: Dinosaurs Before Dark, The Knight at Dawn, Mummies in the Morning, Pirates Past Noon. The first one tells the story of how Jack and Annie first find the Magic Tree House and learn how the books can transport them to magical lands and worlds. It also takes them to the Cretaceous period. With the help of clues and reading the book, they learn and discover things about dinosaurs. In the second book, Jack and Annie are transported back to medieval times. They find a castle and go exploring and find themselves on the run from the castle guards and worry they will never get back to the magic tree house. 

In the third book of this series, Jack and Annie travel back to Ancient Egypt. They enter a pyramid and get lost inside. Inside the pyramid they find the ghost of an Egyptian queen who had been trapped inside the pyramid for ages. Jack and Annie try to set her free. In the last book of the series, Jack and Annie are transported to the times of Pirates where they are captures by Captain Bones. The Magic Tree House Books are great for children from the 2nd to the 5th grade. They are entertaining, imaginative reads that help teach children about history while being fun to read as well. 

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)